Listen to Books and Really Hear Them

by This is my Kingdom on Flickr

I am currently listening to: Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar – Narrated by Maggie Gyllenhaal

Being that I work from home, I’m on my computer for a fair amount of time. Sometimes I don’t really feel like having music in the background but I don’t want to be deafened by silence. I can only play DJ so much and it doesn’t curb the sense of detachment from the outside world that happens when you tuck yourself away behind your computer screen workday in and out.

Reading a book is one of my favorite things to do. The smell of a book intoxicates me as I feel the pages under my fingertips. I get lost in a world of the author’s writing and get taken for a ride. As an avid reader, it pains me that I don’t have enough time to pick up a book and read it. Determined to keep my literary senses on point, I pulled my nose from the air and investigated the world of audio books. I know anyone that is a book purist will cast a disapproving gaze on audio books, but they really are fantastic and there are several benefits to listening to your books.

Not only is it a great time saver, I can start a book while I work and soak it in while I work. Additionally, the sound of someone talking instead of the tap-tap-tap of the keyboard finds itself being incredibly soothing. You can find a variety of narrators for every book. Monotonous ones, ones that embellish their voices for each character and ones that read with enthusiasm but no frills. Find a reading style that you like and stick with it. This will encourage you to continue to find more books to listen to. Audio books also make the book come alive. You’re able to focus less on the words and the ones that follow, but more on the story. You’re actually hearing it. You can actually picture the interior of the restaurant described.

You don’t have to limit yourself to fiction, either. There are tons of books available for personal and professional enrichment that you can listen to on the go. Of course, if hearing books isn’t your thing and you still prefer to read but don’t want to sacrifice for easy portability, do not forget about ebooks.

There are several websites to listen or download audiobooks or ebooks. A few of my favorites are:

LibriVox
LearnOutLoud
Books Should Be Free
OpenCulture

“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.”
Voltaire

4 thoughts on “Listen to Books and Really Hear Them

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

