Fall Cleaning Part I: The Quest Begins

So as of late I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning and reorganization of my room. It’s still no where I want it to be, but I’m making progress and optimistic that I can get it done and possibly make some money in this endeavor.

I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t always have the time to clean. Or the desire. Sometimes all of the chores get so overwhelming I wind up saying “to Hell with it, I’ll do it later,” but I never get it done. While it’s really not hard to do some quick spot cleaning during the week, I have found that a good clean every Spring and Fall helps immensely. You get to purge a lot of things that are of no use to you anymore, free up some space and maybe do something different that you’ve been meaning to for a while.

Personally, I like to just dive in, but some people can be unsure of where to even start. I find that a cleaning checklist can be very helpful when it comes to figuring out where you want to begin cleaning. I like to have a checklist, but consider myself to be a “guideline” kind of person when it comes to this. If I can find ways to incorporate new things into my cleaning routine I’m all for it, but I’m not super gung-ho about cleaning. With that said, Apartment Therapy has a great collection of cleaning lists that are of varying difficulty but pretty easy to follow.

Now you may be asking yourself, what do I need? Before you scramble to the store and blow your money on cleaning supplies, take a look at this photo, courtesy of the New York Times to give you an idea of the items that you really need:

Tony Cenicola

The worst challenge many run into is having the motivation to clean. I mean, after all, it’s not really an exciting chore that you’re bursting at the seams to get done is it? No, but it doesn’t have to be a drag as long as you don’t make it one.

Put on music: iTunes, Spotify, Pandora, CDs or the radio. Whatever your method find yourself some upbeat music and start cleaning. Let yourself sing and dance while you clean, too. No one said cleaning had to be such a serious thing anyway.

Get dressed: Now you don’t have to look like you’re going on a date but by taking yourself out of your comfy pajamas and into a casual outfit with comfortable shoes will get yourself in the mindset that you have something to do.

Give yourself a deadline: I like to race the clock to see how much I can get done in a certain about of time, usually no more than 15 minutes. After you’ve done this a few times you find yourself trying to beat your own record or ignoring the alarm all together. Also, try inviting someone over. There’s nothing that’s more motivating than that feeling of sheer terror you feel when you look at your messy house and realize that someone’s coming over. Just make sure you give yourself a realistic amount of time to get it done.

Try new cleaning products: Sometimes even a new scent of an old product can give me a boost. Alternatively, if there’s no one around, sometimes I like to perform my own infomercials for the kitten. It’s silly but not only does it help the cleaning go by quickly, but it helps my sales pitches too.

Treat yo’ self: Parks and Recreation hasn’t let me down let and they are definitely onto something when it comes to “Treat Yo’ Self.” Once you get your cleaning done for the day definitely reward yourself. Go browse through your favorite store and pick yourself up something special. It doesn’t have to be an expensive treat, either. Proud of yourself for vacuuming and mopping the whole house? Go ahead and grab that guilty pleasure gossip magazine and read it cover to cover. You earned it!

Go forth with your Dustbuster, my friends. Tonight, we clean like hell!

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

