Hurricane Isaac: My Side of the Storm

So as some of you may know, we on the Gulf Coast are still reeling from Hurricane Isaac that touched down August 28th. A lot of New Orleans residents still do not have power and had it a lot worse, but this is my tale.

Once we heard that Isaac would be heading our way, I tracked it for a while. Based upon the fact that it wasn’t a category 3, my mom and I decided that it would probably just be less of a hassle to just stay at home and weather the storm. We stocked up on supplies: non-perishables, drinks, etc.

Two days prior to the storm touching down I decided to go get some gas since I was on empty and really needed it to get around. When I arrived at the gas station there was a ridiculous line. The pre-storm rush had begun and I spent 2.5 hours at the station trying to get gas. Seriously, I was able to read a couple chapters in my book with my feet kicked up.

Once we hunkered down for the storm, it wasn’t necessarily horrible when the weather began to start getting gloomy.


Later that night we lost power, but luckily I had Butters to keep watch.

After this, I was unable to take any more photos as my phone died. However, we battled out some rough weather. A lot of rain and wind but we got through it with no damage. The toughest part of it for me was being out of power for about 3 days. By the end of it we were hot, sweaty and frustrated after the power flickering on twice, getting our hopes up. However we were no worse for the wear. My heart goes out to those still battling the aftermath of the Hurricane.

If you’d like to help Hurricane Isaac victims, please do.

  • You can donate by calling the American Red Cross at 1-800-RED-CROSS (1-800-733-2767) or online at Red Cross . Donations can also be made by texting “RED CROSS” to 90999. This will automatically make a $10 donation.
  • Please visit United Way Gulf Coast to find out how you can make a financial donation to the fund, donate goods large or small, or volunteer time.
  • Donate to the Hurricane Isaac Children in Emergency Fund.
Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

