DIY, Beautiful: Honey, Cinnamon and Nutmeg Face Mask

A few days ago I came across a recipe for this face mask that’s great for acne and reducing redness and swelling in the face. I suppose this could also be made in larger batches to keep for later use, but it’s so quick and easy to make that it’s perfect for quick treatment when you’ve got some spare time.

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon of honey
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of nutmeg

Combine all ingredients and apply to face. Let sit for 30 minutes or in my case, a chapter of the BBC Radio Theatre’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. While Arthur, Trillian and gang were trying to take evasive action I sat with the mask on my face. Truth be told, the smell is delicious. Almost so much so that I was tempted to taste my mask on several occasions after the smell wafted under my nostrils. Resisting the urge for a full half an hour was a test of my fortitude. I managed however.

I set out to remove the mask which turned out to be a lot less difficult than I thought. I simply took a warm, wet washcloth and gently buffed the mask off. The cinnamon and nutmeg worked wonders as an exfoliant on my trouble spots, where I tend to have way more pore activity than I’d like and left my skin soft, yet taut. I’m going to try and remember to give this mask another go when I have a breakout to see how well it works then.

This mask is incredibly easy to make from ingredients that are probably already tucked in your pantry or cabinets. I dig that you don’t need a lot to go a long way; I used the measurements above and found that I didn’t even use all of the mask. The results are so fantastic, I’m actually really ready to use it again.

Have you tried this mask or have any favorite DIY beauty recipes?

One thought on “DIY, Beautiful: Honey, Cinnamon and Nutmeg Face Mask

  1. Amazing! love DIY beauty tips! I tried honey and raw salt for a body scrub, it makes you skin so soooooft. I’m gonna try yours for the face! X thank you X

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

