7 Day DIY Challenge: My Day 5 Coffee Break

With my irregular schedule, too often I find myself working through the night leaving me sluggish during the morning and afternoon. I don’t drink coffee but I love the smell of it so when I found some in the freezer, I decided to put to some use for my challenge. On Tuesday, I made a pair of scrubs and figured that if I made it into a trio by body would thank me.

You can find a super easy how-to online. I based my scrub off of one created by Megan at A Cup of Mo. To begin, gather your ingredients. You will need coffee, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and olive oil. Put the coffee, cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar in a air tight container, I used a mason jar, and add the olive oil. Mix until everything is incorporated. At this point, I checked my scrub and it seemed a bit too grainy. I didn’t have quite enough olive oil to get the right texture so I hopped over to my treasure chest of products and scooped the very last little bit of coconut oil from the container and blended it into the scrub. Take special care when blending coconut oil as you may have chunks left over. Keep mixing to get these chunks of coconut oil out.

I wound up with a incredible smelling scrub that left me smooth, soft and more awake. My thoughts were more focused, like I had just gotten my daily cup of joe. Coffee is wonderful to use in a body scrub as it is a terrific exfoliant and the caffeine acts as an antioxidant and aids in the promotion of blood flow. This scrub has been said to be great for preventing acne, sloughing away dead skin and invigorate, which was exactly what I wanted.

To use: Apply to your body in a circular motion. Rinse clean and pat dry.

Is it just me or don’t you just love how easy it is to make your own beauty products?

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

