7 Day DIY Challenge: Gift Giving on Day 6

So today I decided to tackle something that I can give away. Something for my mom that isn’t really extravagant but fun, meaningful and made by me. I took a look around and let my eyes settle on the blank canvases I had and a dictionary. I got a jar, glue and some water to whip up a batch of homemade modge podge really quickly. I was going to put the dictionary pages on the canvas.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do afterwards but I set out to start on my project. I decided to flip to pages in the dictionary that started with the same letter as my mom’s name. I tore the pages out and began my daily challenge. I coated the canvas with modge podge and layered the pages on the canvas until it was covered. At this point, I took a few drops of brown watercolor paint and put it into the remaining modge podge and went over the top of the pages again, to give it a little aged look. I set it to dry for about 2 hours. After it dried, I took a black marker and drew my mom’s first initial onto the canvas and drew a funky border around it, since I know she loves borders.  Unsure of what to do next, I decided that being the New Orleans Saints fan she is, it wouldn’t hurt to go over the canvas with a golden tint. I gave the canvas a coat and let it dry. It only took about 45 minutes to dry and then I retraced everything with a black marker. I loved it so much that I did one with my initial. This time I decided to do a stained glass kind of feel. A awesome way to finish off some of my water colors.

Here’s the process for all you visual folk —

Undoubtedly, the best part of this challenge today was the payoff. When I gave it to her she was so excited and put it up so quickly. I mean, how can you not love a happy mom?

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

