Curly Girl Problems: Hair Growth

In preparation for the Show Me the Growth! 2013 Hair Growth Challenge, I’ve been doing some assessing of my hair: how long it has been since my BC, how long it has grown since, problem areas, goals for the coming year, etc. When I BC’d, I envisioned myself with a head awash of curls, so long Rapunzel would be jealous. 2.5 years later and it doesn’t look like my hair is doing any growing. I normally wear it in an afro that sits right around my ears. When stretched, my hair is below my shoulders.

Quiet as it’s kept, I’ve been slacking. There’s been some things I should do that I haven’t, things I shouldn’t do that I have and it’s time to stop. My number one hair goal in 2013 is to gain length, hence signing up to do this challenge. The challenge is meant to help you help yourself by breaking you of bad habits and helping establish a sound hair regimen that will get you to your goals. I dig that, I really do. So, in an attempt to figure out what’s going on up top and how I can help it along, I’ve been scouring the internet doing some research on my hair and hair growth. I’ve found a lot of great information, but by far the infographic by NaturallyCurly was one of the best. I definitely recommend this as a starting place to understand the normal growth rate of curly hair as well as pick up some great tips.

Hair Growth Chart

There’s a lot of info out there to support me on this challenge, so I can say I’m looking forward to it. Cutting my hair was the best thing I’ve ever done and now it’s my turn to return the love it has given me. Keep calm and curl on!

 

3 thoughts on “Curly Girl Problems: Hair Growth

  1. Thanks for sharing. I am in the same boat with you! I haven’t been taking care of my coily hair as I should. I am trying to leave my hair out of braids for the rest of the year and hopefully learn to manage it by 2013. Good luck on your journey. Keep us updated about your progress.

    1. I feel you, Brittany! As a start, I started deep conditioning my hair more frequently. There’s so many contributing factors to my hair being the best it can be that I’m beginning the think that figuring out the right combination of products that works is the hardest part. I figure that by pumping moisture into my hair, while I’m figuring out those products, can’t hurt. I’ve been wearing it picked out more as well, embracing all that is the big beautiful afro while keeping it as tangle free as possible.

      Best of luck to you as well! I’d love to hear about anything that works for you.

Comment | Tell Me How You Really Feel.

